What Are Your Predictions for SharePoint in 2016?

There is so much going on in the SharePoint space as of late, and from all reports coming out of Microsoft headquarters in Redmond Washington, 2016 is positioned to be a HUGE year for the platform. With CVP Jeff Teper back at the helm, and the cadence of releases around Office 365 as well as SharePoint 2016 speeding up, the community is bursting with ideas and theories about where things are headed. As we close out our third year of these #CollabTalk tweetjams, its time to once again use our December event to share those predictions, as well as to summarize our thoughts on the year behind us. Join us on Wednesday, December 30th at 9am PST as we take an hour to discuss “SharePoint and Office 365 Predictions for 2016” with a panel of experts, MVPs, and community members from around the world.

CollabTalk tweetjam Dec 2015If you’ve never participated in one of these tweetjams, no worries – anyone can jump in and share their thoughts, or just lurk in the wings and absorb the wisdom of the crowd. Either way, it’ll be a TON of content to consume in a single hour. You can follow the live session using the Twitter UI of your choice (Twitter.com, Hootsuite, Tweetdeck, Twubs, whatever). How it works is that I’ll post a series of questions every few minutes, and people will respond to Q1, Q2, Q3 and so forth with A1, A2, A3, always including the #CollabTalk hashtag with their answers. Feel free to reply as often (or as little) as you’d like, ask your own follow up questions, share relevant links, retweet others, and engage with the audience.

The questions we will discuss during the session include:

  1. What was the biggest news for SharePoint and Office 365 this year?
  2. How has your outlook on SharePoint changed this past year?
  3. Is SharePoint still relevant?
  4. Do you believe the rise of O365 Groups will have an impact on SharePoint?
  5. What 3 features (available or forthcoming) will have the biggest impact on SharePoint in 2016?
  6. What are your predictions for SharePoint as a platform in 2016 and beyond?
  7. If you could give one piece of advice to Microsoft re: SharePoint, what would it be?

Of course, there will be side-questions, side-conversations, and wise-cracking throughout. The dialog is usually thought-provoking but also fun. Participating on this panel are a number of MVPs and experts on SharePoint and Office 365. Of course, this is open to the public, so please join in the discussion!

  • Randy Drisgill (@drisgill), SharePoint MVP and dev and UX manager at Rackspace 
  • Dan Holme (@danholme), Office365 MVP, evangelist, and co-founder of ITUnity  
  • Paul Tavares (@paul_tavares), software engineer and UX and GUI dev at Ericsson
  • Sean McNeill (@S_McNeill), Office365 MVP and senior account executive at SkyKick 
  • Agnes Molnar (@molnaragnes), SharePoint MVP, founder and managing consultant at Search Explained
  • Jussi Mori (@JussiMori), SharePoint MVP, social expert and consultant at Peaches Industries
  • David Roe (@druadh20), technology journalist and senior reporter with CMSWire
  • Joel Oleson (@joeloleson), director of business development at Konica Minolta
  • Jason Himmelstein (@sharepointlhorn), SharePoint MVP and Office 365 advisory services manager at Rackspace
  • Symon Garfield (@symon_garfield), SharePoint MVP and manager – digital workplace at Deloitte UK
  • Bo Woronowicz (@BoWoronowicz), IT and services professional, board member PSSPUG.org
  • Laura Rogers (@wonderlaura),  SharePoint MVP and consultant at Rackspace 
  • John White (@diverdown1964), SharePoint MVP and cto at UnlimitedViz Inc.  
  • Mai Omar Desouki (@maiomardesoiuki), SharePoint PFE at Microsoft
  • Paul Swider (@pswider), enterprise SharePoint strategist at onClick Solutions
  • Jared Shockley (@jshoq), senior service engineer at Microsoft IT
  • Brian Alderman (@brianalderman), SharePoint trainer at CBT Nuggets, ceo of MicroTechPoint
  • Alan Lepofsky (@alanlepo), vp at Constellation Research 
  • Sonya Koptyev (@sonyakoptyev), Office 365 technical product manager at Microsoft
  • Oliver Wirkus (@owirkus), senior SharePoint consultant at Softlanding 
  • Benjamin Niaulin (@bniaulin), Office 365 MVP and evangelist at ShareGate  
  • Barry Jinks (@BJinks), founder and ceo at Colligo
  • Michal Pisarek (@michalpisarek), SharePoint MVP and founder of Bonzai Intranet
  • Jeff Willinger (@jwillie), director of collaboration and social business at Rightpoint
  • Heather Newman (@heddanewman), co-founder and cmo of ContentPanda
  • Hans Brender (@hansbrender), SharePoint MVP and solution architect at BitTitan 
  • Melinda Morales (@trulymelinda), business analyst and consultant at GTconsult
  • Sebastien Levert (@sebastienlevert), Office365 MVP and specialist in Azure, SharePoint, and O365 at Pollen
  • Vlad Catrinescu (@vladcatrinescu), SharePoint MVP and founder of SharePoint-Community.net
  • Wes Preston (@idubbs), SharePoint MVP, evangelist,  and owner at TrecStone
  • Jeff Shuey (@jshuey), founder NuNalu
  • Marc Anderson (@sympmarc), SharePoint MVP and co-founder, president of Sympraxis Consulting 
  • Naomi Moneypenny (@nmoneypenny), Office365 MVP and cto at ManyWorlds 
  • Jeff Fried (@jefffried), cto and vp of engineering at BA Insight  
  • Marlee Long (@cardiolog), marketing manager at Intlock
  • Martina Grom (@magrom), Office365 MVP and co-founder and ceo of atwork information technology 
  • Brian Culver (@SPbrianculver), SharePoint MCM and founder, president of Expert Point Solutions
  • Ragnar Heil (@ragnarh), customer success manager at Microsoft
  • Treb Gatte (@tgatte), Project Server MVP and principal at Tumble Road 
  • Stacy Deere-Strole (@sldeere), owner of Focal Point Solutions 
  • Gina Montgomery (@ginammontgomery), vp of corporate strategy at Softmart
  • Patrick Curran (@pcfromdc), director, federal group at Plan et Technologies
  • Robert Bogue (@RobBogue), author, speaker, strategist and consultant at Thor Projects
  • Eric Overfield (@ericoverfield), branding expert and author, founder of PixelMill  
  • Eric Riz (@rizinsights), SharePoint MVP and ceo of Empty Cubicle   
  • and your host, Christian Buckley (@buckleyplanet), Office 365 MVP and chief marketing officer for Beezy

The panel size may increase over the next couple days, but as always everyone is invited to participate whether or not you’re part of the panel. Join the conversation using the #CollabTalk hashtag and share your thoughts!

Christian Buckley

Christian is a Microsoft Regional Director and Office Servers and Services MVP, the Founder & CEO of CollabTalk LLC, an independent research and technical marketing services firm based in Salt Lake City, Utah, and CMO of revealit.io, a blockchain-based video technology company.