Understanding the Impacts of Looming Data Privacy Changes

The handling of personally identifiable information (PII) has long been an issue for the enterprise, but most people don’t pay much attention to how their data is used and stored – until a major breach makes the headlines. However, on May 25th, 2018, the European Union is taking things a huge step further — with the enactment of the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). The objective of this new and potentially far-reaching regulatory change is to give people more control over their personal data, while also unifying how the EU manages PII. In other words, a single standard across all participating countries — and according to a new study, few organizations are prepared.

CollabTalk tweetjam and GDPRThe broad terms of the GDPR mean that any company with a website offering goods or services (including cloud services) to citizens of the EU will likely become subject to the regulation. This is a huge change to the previous law, which typically gives jurisdiction only to companies with an established business in a particular EU state.

For this month’s #CollabTalk tweetjam, the community will convene to discuss the GDPR, focusing on “The Impacts of Data Privacy Regulation.” Our panel will include a number of MVPs and experts who are focusing on the business impacts of GDPR, and working with customers, partners, and Microsoft to develop solutions.

Please join the community discussion on Thursday, June 29th at 9am Pacific using Twitter and the #CollabTalk hashtag, or through the dedicated tweetjam site at http://twubs.com/CollabTalk. This month’s tweetjam is sponsored by AvePoint, with tyGraph once again providing the awesome stats!

If you’ve never participated in one of these tweetjams, it’s pretty simple: anyone can jump in and share their thoughts, or just lurk in the wings and absorb the wisdom of the crowd. Either way, it’ll be a TON of content to consume in a single hour. You can follow the live session using the Twitter UI of your choice (Twitter.com, Hootsuite, Tweetdeck, Twubs, whatever). How it works is that I’ll post a series of questions every few minutes, and people will respond to Q1, Q2, Q3 and so forth with A1, A2, A3, always including the #CollabTalk hashtag with their answers. Feel free to reply as often (or as little) as you’d like, ask your own follow up questions, share relevant links, retweet others, and engage with the audience.

The questions we will discuss during the session include:

  1. Are companies underestimating potential impact of the EU’s General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) coming in 2018?
  2. Where should an organization start in terms of getting ready for GDPR, & what are the budget/timing implications?
  3. How should organizations benchmark their readiness for GDPR – and measure their progress?
  4. What is the role of PII within Office 365 workloads & other Microsoft solutions?
  5. What is Microsoft doing to help partners & customers prepare for GDPR?
  6. How will GDPR impact data privacy & portability, & the rate of innovation for collaboration technology?
  7. What practical guidance would you give organizations just starting to plan for GDPR?

Of course, there will be side-questions, side-conversations, and wise-cracking throughout. This is open to the public, so please join in the discussion! The dialog is usually thought-provoking but also fun.

Participating on this panel:

  • Ragnar Heil (@ragnarh), Office 365 E5 channel lead at Microsoft
  • Milad Aslaner (@MiladMSFT) senior product manager, cyber security at Microsoft
  • Dana Louise Simberkoff (@danalouise), chief risk, privacy and information security officer at AvePoint
  • Paul Hunt (@cimares), Microsoft MVP and SharePoint solutions architect at Trustmarque Solutions
  • Ben Robb (@benrobb), SharePoint MVP and senior manager at Deloitte
  • Andy Talbott (@SharePointAndy), Office 365 & SharePoint consultant at Nando’s UK
  • John Timney (@jtimney), transformation Enterprise Architect at Hewlett Packard Enterprise
  • Andrew Woodward (@andrewwoody), enterprise architect at Zurich Insurance company Ltd.
  • Dux Raymond Sy (@meetdux), Microsoft Regional Director, SharePoint MVP, and CMO of AvePoint
  • Eric Overfield (@ericoverfield), Microsoft Regional Director, SharePoint MVP, and founder of PixelMill
  • Liz Sundet (@percusn), Microsoft MVP, director of business relationships at Focal Point Solutions
  • Andrew Connell (@andrewconnell), SharePoint MVP, and founder, instructor, chief puppeteer at Voitanos LLC
  • Jeffrey Schwartz (@jeffreyschwartz), editor of Redmond Magazine and editor-at-large for Redmond Channel Partner magazine
  • Nick Brattoli (@Byrdttoli), founder and lead consultant at Byrdttoli Enterprise Consulting
  • Tobiasz Koprowski (@KoprowskiT), Data Platform MVP, independent consultant
  • Thomas Daly (@_tomdaly_), Office Servers & Services MVP and senior SharePoint solutions developer at B&R Business Solutions
  • Alistair Pugin (@alistairpugin), SharePoint MVP and productivity evangelist at Britehouse
  • Mike Oryszak (next_connect), managing director at B&R Business Solutions
  • Dean Swann (@sdeanswann), social collaborator, growth hacker and product manager for UnlimitedViz
  • Heather Newman (@heddanewman), co-founder and cmo of ContentPanda
  • Paul Stork (@pstork), SharePoint MVP and MCM, owner and principal at Don’t Pa..Panic Consulting
  • Barry Jinks (@BJinks), founder and ceo at Colligo
  • Jeff Fried (@jefffried), chief technology officer at BA Insight
  • Debbie Ferolito (@dbraunert), chief marketing officer at BA Insight
  • Thomas Vochten (@thomasvochten), Microsoft MVP and SharePoint architect at Xylos
  • Bruce Herzer (@bruceherzer), director of marketing at Colligo
  • Stacy Deere-Strole (@sldeere), SharePoint MVP and owner of Focal Point Solutions
  • Michael Greth (@mysharepoint), Microsoft MVP, SharePoint and Office 365 specialist, podcaster and speaker
  • Brian Culver (@SPbrianculver), SharePoint MCM and founder, president of Expert Point Solution
  • Marcy Kellar (@marcykellar), director of collaboration at HighPoint Solutions
  • Jason Himmelstein (@sharepointlhorn), SharePoint MVP and technical strategy director at Rackspace
  • Robert Toro (@SharePointToro), SharePoint practice director at Slalom
  • Maarten Visser (@mvisser), chief storyteller at Meetroo
  • Oliver Wirkus (@OWirkus), Office 365 MVP and senior SharePoint consultant at Softlanding
  • David Drever (@DavidMDrever), SharePoint MVP and SharePoint services lead at Solvera Solutions
  • Ted Green (@efgreen), ceo and SharePoint architect at Green IT Consulting
  • Kipp Sorenson (@kbes), SharePoint consultant at Soren Innovations
  • Russ Edelman (@russecm), president and ceo at Corridor Company
  • Geoff Varosky (@gvaro), managing consultant at BlueMetal, president of Boston Area SharePoint Group, and co-founder of Boston Office365 User Group
  • Michael Mukalian (@mmukalian), director of content, collaboration & cloud at The Judge Group
  • Fabian Williams (@fabianwilliams), SharePoint MVP and all-around ninja at K2
  • Drew Madelung (@dmadelung), SharePoint and Office 365 MVP and architect at Concurrency Inc.
  • Brian Seitz (@bseitz), enterprise architect and senior consultant at Elyon Strategies
  • Ben Henderson (@ben3003), solutions specialist at RecordPoint
  • Christina Wheeler (@cwheeler76), SharePoint consultant, trainer and developer with CM Portal Solutions
  • David Willis (@Exclaimer), senior marketing executive at Exclaimer
  • Bradley Geldenhuys (@bradgcoza), founder and ceo of GTconsult, ice cream fanatic
  • Juan Carlos Gonzalez Martin (@jcgm1978), SharePoint MVP, co-director of the magazine CompartiMOSS, consultant and solution architect at LKS
  • Ryan Schouten (@ShrPntKnight) senior SharePoint architect and evangelist at ZAACT
  • Rob LaMear (@fpwebRob), ceo at FPWeb
  • Mike Fitzmaurice (@mikefitz), SharePoint/workflow/Nintex guy
  • Ed Senez (@edsenez), president at UnlimitedViz and TyGraph
  • Jeremy Thake (@jthake), vp of product technology at Hyperfish
  • Vlad Catrinescu (@vladcatrinescu),SharePoint and Office 365 MVP, speaker, and author
  • Eric Riz (@rizinsights), SharePoint MVP and ceo of Empty Cubicle
  • John White (@diverdown1964), SharePoint MVP and cto at UnlimitedViz Inc.
  • Michal Pisarek (@michalpisarek), SharePoint MVP and founder of Bonzai Intranet
  • Gokan Ozcifci (@gokanozcifci), Microsoft Regional Director, SharePoint MVP, and IT infrastructure consultant at Neoxy
  • Nikkia Carter (@carterMcGServ), ceo at CMW LLC and tech speaker
  • Erica Toelle (@ericatoelle), evangelist at Record Point
  • Patrick Curran (@pcfromdc), director, federal group at Planet Technologies
  • and your host, Christian Buckley (@buckleyplanet), Office Servers and Services MVP, founder & ceo of CollabTalk LLC

If you would like to join our panel, please drop me a line. Otherwise, everyone is invited. And if you can’t make the time – don’t worry. I’ll capture the entire discussion in Storify and post the link to the various social feeds. Watch my Twitters via @buckleyplanet for updates.

AvePointAnd to get a closer look at the impact the GDPR will have on how your data is managed — and better understand how to disclose data privacy and protection practices, provide transparency, choice, and consent to your customers, please visit EUGDPR.org or check out this link from this month’s sponsor, AvePoint, who have put together free resources, including the GDPR Benchmark report, with data from a survey conducted by AvePoint, in partnership with the Centre for Information Policy Leadership, a global privacy and cyber security think tank that surveys organizations around the world for GDPR readiness. Find out how your organization measures against the results, and start planning now! https://www.avepoint.com/gdpr/

See you online at the tweetjam!

Christian Buckley

Christian is a Microsoft Regional Director and Office Apps & Services MVP, the Founder & CEO of CollabTalk LLC, an independent research and technical marketing services firm based in Salt Lake City, Utah, and fractional-CMO for revealit.io, tyGraph, and Extranet User Manager.