Where Does OneDrive Fit Into Your Collaboration Strategy?

In his European SharePoint Conference keynote address, Microsoft CVP and long-time SharePoint leader Jeff Teper talked about his drive to remake both SharePoint and OneDrive for Business as the “modern content collaboration” platform of choice for businesses and developers alike. He spoke of making OneDrive for Business more connected, intelligent, and social, better connecting it into the overall Office 365 fabric.

CollabTalk tweetjam November 2015As a standalone consumer offering, the OneDrive brand (previously SkyDrive) has been around for many years as a consumer tool, but interest in OneDrive for Business has been growing steadily since its release. While the platform has suffered from a much-discussed sync issue, resolving this issue and fixing the underlying PR mess is at the top of Microsoft's priorities. Given Teper’s statements, OneDrive for Business has become a centerpiece for solving Microsoft's competitive problem with cloud-based storage solutions, such as Dropbox, iCloud, Google Drive, and others, and will play a key role in building their vision of a modern content collaboration platform.

That’s the topic we’ll tackle this month in the #CollabTalk tweetjam, which takes place Monday, November 30th at 9am PST. We will once again bring the community together via Twitter to discuss the topic “OneDrive and the Modern Content Collaboration Platform.” You’ll hear from an assortment of experts and members of the community as they share opinions and customer experiences on what they have experiences, and want to see next out of the OneDrive for Business platform, as well as from SharePoint and Office 365 as Microsoft builds out their vision. If you’re interested in hearing from a huge panel of experts on this topic, simply follow along on Twitter using the #CollabTalk hashtag, or join the conversation at Twubs.com/CollabTalk

If you’ve never participated in one of these tweetjams, they can be a lot of fun – but it’s a TON of content to consume in a single hour. Be warned. Within each hour-long session using the Twitter UI of your choice (Twitter.com, Hootsuite, Tweetdeck, Twubs, whatever) we will go through a series of questions over the course of the hour, responding to Q1, Q2, Q3 and so forth with A1, A2, A3 and always including the #CollabTalk hashtag with your answers. Feel free to reply as often (or as little) as you’d like, ask your own follow up questions, share relevant links, retweet others, and engage with the audience.

The questions we will discuss during the session include:

  • How important is OneDrive for Business to Microsoft’s collaboration story?
  • Has there been fallout around the unlimited storage issue?
  • How has sync impacted OneDrive for Business adoption?
  • In your view, what is the OneDrive + SharePoint story?
  • If I have OneDrive for Business, do I even need SharePoint?
  • Have your content collaboration requirements shifted from SharePoint to OneDrive?
  • What are the gaps in Microsoft’s content collaboration strategy?

Participating on this panel are a number of MVPs and experts on SharePoint and Office 365. Of course, this is open to the public, so please join in the discussion!

  • Jeffrey Schwartz (@JeffreySchwartz), editor at 1105 Media, including Redmond and Redmond Channel  
  • Chris "Mr. Social" Slemp (@cslemp), senior business program manager at Microsoft 
  • Dan Holme (@danholme), Office365 MVP, evangelist, and co-founder of ITUnity  
  • Benjamin Niaulin (@bniaulin), Office 365 MVP and evangelist at ShareGate  
  • Barry Jinks (@BJinks), founder and ceo at Colligo
  • Jeff Willinger (@jwillie), director of collaboration and social business at Rightpoint
  • Heather Newman (@heddanewman), co-founder and cmo of ContentPanda
  • Darrell Webster (@darrellcwebster), Office 365 MVP and SharePoint trainer at ShareThePoint.com 
  • Hans Brender (@hansbrender), SharePoint MVP and solution architect at BitTitan 
  • Marius Constantinescu (@c_marius), SharePoint MVP and managing consultant at blue-infinity
  • Rich Wood (@richothewood), national director Microsoft platform at Perficient
  • Erik Ruthruff (@itunity01), managing editor at IT Unity
  • Melinda Morales (@trulymelinda), business analyst and consultant at GTconsult
  • Sebastien Levert (@sebastienlevert), Office365 MVP and specialist in Azure, SharePoint, and O365 at Pollen
  • Mike Gilronan (@mikegil), SharePoint practice director at McGladrey
  • John White (@diverdown1964), SharePoint MVP and cto at UnlimitedViz Inc. 
  • Jeff Fried (@jefffried), cto and vp of engineering at BA Insight  
  • Marlee Long (@cardiolog), marketing manager at Intlock
  • Damon Tompkins (@damontompkins), svp of corporate and business development at Metalogix 
  • Owen Allen (@owenallen), Office 365 technology specialist at Microsoft
  • Erica Toelle (@EricaToelle), business development manager at Protiviti 
  • Stacy Deere-Strole (@sldeere), owner of Focal Point Solutions 
  • Brett Hill (@bretthill), Office365 MVP and manager of technical marketing at Riverbed Technology 
  • Gina Montgomery (@ginammontgomery), vp of corporate strategy at Softmart
  • Patrick Curran (@pcfromdc), director, federal group at Plan et Technologies
  • Eric Overfield (@ericoverfield), branding expert and author, founder of PixelMill  
  • Eric Riz (@rizinsights), SharePoint MVP and ceo of Empty Cubicle   
  • Kanwal Khipple (@kkhipple), Office 365 MVP and founder of 2toLead  
  • Naomi Moneypenny (@nmoneypenny), Office365 MVP and cto at ManyWorlds 
  • Paul Stork (@pstork), SharePoint MVP and MCM, principal architect at BlueChip
  • and your host, Christian Buckley (@buckleyplanet), Office 365 MVP and chief marketing officer for Beezy

The panel size may increase over the next couple days, but as always everyone is invited to participate whether or not you’re part of the panel. Join the conversation using the #CollabTalk hashtag and share your thoughts!

Christian Buckley

Christian is a Microsoft Regional Director and Office Servers and Services MVP, the Founder & CEO of CollabTalk LLC, an independent research and technical marketing services firm based in Salt Lake City, Utah, and CMO of revealit.io, a blockchain-based video technology company.