Putting the Newsfeed at the Center of Corporate Collaboration

If you’ve been following this blog or my writing for any amount of time, then you’re well aware of my passion for social collaboration, spanning back beyond the start of this blog 12+ years ago. But where many think about social in terms of chat tools, LOL cats, or posting pictures of what CollabTalk May 31, 2016 tweetjamyou had for breakfast, my experience is somewhat different. I think of social in terms of how it improves knowledge management, and the ability of social systems to capture corporate knowledge.

At the core of enterprise social collaboration is the newsfeed. In fact, the newsfeed sits at the center of some of the most popular websites in the world: Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn. What is it about the newsfeed model that people connect with, and find so engaging? How can this same engaging, intuitive, conversational capability be leveraged within your own organization?

On Tuesday, May 31st at 9am PDT we will be discussing The Role of the Newsfeed in the Digital Workplace and engaging with a panel of social, knowledge management, and collaboration experts, MVPs, and community members from around the world as we tackle this topic and share our thoughts and experiences.

If you’ve never participated in one of these tweetjams, it's pretty simple: anyone can jump in and share their thoughts, or just lurk in the wings and absorb the wisdom of the crowd. Either way, it’ll be a TON of content to consume in a single hour. You can follow the live session using the Twitter UI of your choice (Twitter.com, Hootsuite, Tweetdeck, Twubs, whatever). How it works is that I’ll post a series of questions every few minutes, and people will respond to Q1, Q2, Q3 and so forth with A1, A2, A3, always including the #CollabTalk hashtag with their answers. Feel free to reply as often (or as little) as you’d like, ask your own follow up questions, share relevant links, retweet others, and engage with the audience.

The questions we will discuss during the session include:

  1. What are the components of a successful corporate newsfeed?
  2. How important is the newsfeed to the modern digital workplace?
  3. Does the newsfeed and social “discovery” have an impact on end user engagement?
  4. How important is the newsfeed to internal communication?
  5. Is the newsfeed value prop different for small teams vs large organizations?
  6. Does the social graph replace the need for manual activities to add context and correlate?
  7. Are bots the next logical step to the automated newsfeed?

Of course, there will be side-questions, side-conversations, and wise-cracking throughout. The dialog is usually thought-provoking but also fun. Participating on this panel are a number of MVPs and experts on SharePoint and Office 365. Of course, this is open to the public, so please join in the discussion!

  • Dawn Gartin (@dawngartin), community engagement expert, former customer success manager at Microsoft
  • Sue Hanley (@susanhanley), SharePoint MVP, portal, KM, and SharePoint consultant
  • Stefani Butler (@butlerstefani), former Office 365 fCSM, managing partner at the plat4rm group
  • Michal Pisarek (@michalpisarek), SharePoint MVP and founder of Bonzai Intranet
  • Chris Slemp (@cslemp), director of strategy at Carpool Digital
  • Steve Nguyen (@espnguyen), director of client success at Degreed
  • Eric Overfield (@ericoverfield), Office Servers and Services MVP, founder of PixelMill
  • Peter Walke (@pwalke), former Office 365 CSM, account technology strategist at Microsoft
  • Richard Harbridge (@rharbridge), Office Server and Services MVP, cto of 2toLead
  • Jared Shockley (@jshoq), senior systems engineer with SESIT at Microsoft
  • Adam Levithan (@collabadam), senior product manager at Metalogix
  • Noah Sparks (@noahsparks), community igniter and strategy manager at Carpool Digital
  • Tamara Bredemus (@tamarabred), director of collaborative services at City of Minneapolis
  • Lisa Vanderlip (@lisavanderlip), Yammer and Office 365 CSM at Microsoft
  • Jeff Willinger (@jwillie), director of collaboration and social business at Rightpoint
  • Naomi Moneypenny (@nmoneypenny), Office365 MVP and cto at ManyWorlds
  • Jeff Fried (@jefffried), cto and vp of engineering at BA Insight
  • Kanwal Khipple (@kkhipple), Office 365 MVP and founder of 2toLead
  • Eric Riz (@rizinsights), SharePoint MVP and ceo of Empty Cubicle 
  • and your host, Christian Buckley (@buckleyplanet), Office Server and Services MVP and cmo for Beezy

It should be a fantastic discussions. As always, everyone is invited to participate whether or not you’re part of the panel. Join the conversation using the #CollabTalk hashtag and share your ideas and feedback. Thanks!

Christian Buckley

Christian is a Microsoft Regional Director and Office Servers and Services MVP, the Founder & CEO of CollabTalk LLC, an independent research and technical marketing services firm based in Salt Lake City, Utah, and CMO of revealit.io, a blockchain-based video technology company.