How Microsoft is Creating the Intelligent Enterprise

The term "Intelligent Enterprise" is not new — it has been used for several years by management and technology consultants to refer to the application of technology and new service paradigms to solve the challenge of improving business performance. At the core of the Intelligent Enterprise is data accessibility, with the power of the cloud, machine-learning, and the social graph helping companies better leverage their data assets — with Microsoft very much at the forefront of innovation in this space.

CollabTalk tweetjam Nov 2016In this month's CollabTalk tweetjam, which takes place on Wednesday, November 30th at 9am PST, the community will once again convene and discuss "Creating the Intelligent Enterprise" with a huge panel of experts, MVPs, and CollabTalk regulars. I received quite a few responses to my invite this month, as the entire concept of the Intelligent Enterprise touches on so many aspects of the collaboration ecosystem.

As always, just because you’re not on the panel doesn’t mean you cannot participate. CollabTalk is open to the public, and we want everyone to participate. You can use the Twitter UI through your browser, join us using tool of your choice (Tweetdeck, Hootsuite), or log into our dedicated site at http://twubs.com/CollabTalk

The CollabTalk tweetjam is once again sponsored by Beezy and TyGraph. MVP John White (@diverdown1964) is tweaking the stats for this month, which I am very excited to sharte next week, but you can see what he put together last month here.

If you’ve never participated in one of these tweetjams, it's pretty simple: anyone can jump in and share their thoughts, or just lurk in the wings and absorb the wisdom of the crowd. Either way, it’ll be a TON of content to consume in a single hour. The tweetjam is being sponsored by Beezy and TyGraph, with the latter providing statistics of the tweetjam throughout the event, which you can access here.

How it works is that I’ll post a series of questions every few minutes, and people will respond to Q1, Q2, Q3 and so forth with A1, A2, A3, always including the #CollabTalk hashtag with their answers. Feel free to reply as often (or as little) as you’d like, ask your own follow up questions, share relevant links, retweet others, and engage with the audience.

The questions we will cover this month include:

  1. What is the "Intelligent Workplace" or "Intelligent Enterprise"?
  2. How has the cloud affected the move toward the Intelligent Enterprise?
  3. Are there risks to enabling anytime, anywhere access to tools and data within the Intelligent Enterprise?
  4. What is, or will be, the role of mobile in the Intelligent Enterprise?
  5. What role does SharePoint play in the Intelligent Enterprise?
  6. How do you see Microsoft solutions like PowerApps, Flow, and PowerBI evolving within the Intelligent Enterprise?
  7. What are the hurdles for businesses as they move toward the Intelligent Enterprise?

Within the one hour tweetjam, there will be side-questions, follow-up questions, and occasional silliness. The format can be thought-provoking as well as fun. These tweetjams usually includes a great lineup of Microsoft MVPs and MCMs, and other community experts across SharePoint, Office 365, Yammer, Exchange, Azure, Skype, Project and more. This month's panel of confirmed participants includes:

  • Chris McNulty (@cmcnulty2000), senior product manager at Microsoft (and still here)
  • John White (@diverdown1964), SharePoint MVP and cto at UnlimitedViz Inc.
  • Jeffrey Schwartz (@jeffreyschwartz), editor of Redmond Magazine and editor-at-large for Redmond Channel Partner magazine
  • Eric Overfield (@ericoverfield), Office Servers and Services MVP, founder of PixelMill
  • Jason Himmelstein (@sharepointlhorn), SharePoint MVP and Office 365 advisory services manager at Rackspace
  • Noah Sparks (@noahsparks), community igniter and strategy manager at Carpool Digital
  • J. Dan Attis (@jdattis), SharePoint MVP and sr. solution architect at B&R Business Solutions
  • Ryan Schouten (@ShrPntKnight) senior SharePoint architect and evangelist at ZAACT
  • Robert Toro (@SharePointToro), SharePoint practice director at Slalom
  • Brian Culver (@SPbrianculver), SharePoint MCM and founder, president of Expert Point Solution
  • Eric Riz (@rizinsights), SharePoint MVP and ceo of Empty Cubicle
  • Sebastien Levert (@sebastienlevert), Office365 MVP and specialist in Azure, SharePoint, and O365 at Pollen
  • Erica Toelle (@ericatoelle), portals and content manager at Valorem Consulting
  • Andrew Connell (@andrewconnell), SharePoint MVP, and founder, instructor, male model at Voitanos LLC
  • Nikkia Carter (@carterMcGServ), ceo at CMW LLC and tech speaker
  • Jeff Willinger (@jwillie), Office 365 MVP and director of collaboration and social business at Rightpoint
  • Tamara Bredemus (@TamaraBred), collaboration director at City of Minneapolis
  • Heather Newman (@heddanewman), co-founder and cmo of ContentPanda
  • Martina Grom (@magrom), co-founder of atwork.at, Office 365 MVP
  • Bill Ayers (@SPdoctor), SharePoint MCM/MCSM, solution architect and developer
  • Treb Gatte (@tgatte), Business Solutions MVP, international speaker/man of mystery at TumbleRoad LLC
  • Bradley Geldenhuys (@bradgcoza), founder and ceo of GTconsult, unrepentant ginger
  • Tobiasz Koprowski (@KoprowskiT), Data Platform MVP, independent consultant
  • Jeff Shuey (@jshuey), founder and managing director at NuNalu, president of IAMCP Seattle
  • Owen Allen (@owenallen), Office 365 technology specialist at Microsoft
  • Rene Modery (@modery), Office 365 MVP, collaboration and SharePoint applications manager
  • Melinda Morales (@trulymelinda), solution consultant at 3Sharp
  • Agnes Molnar (@molnaragnes), enterprise search & findability consultant/ceo at Search Explained
  • Marc Anderson (@sympmarc), SharePoint MVP and co-founder, president of Sympraxis Consulting
  • Peter Walke (@pwalke), former Office 365 CSM, account technology strategist at Microsoft
  • Patrick Curran (@pcfromdc), director, federal group at Planet Technologies
  • Michal Pisarek (@michalpisarek), SharePoint MVP and founder of Bonzai Intranet
  • Oliver Wirkus (@OWirkus), Office 365 MVP and sr. SharePoint consultant at Softlanding
  • Mike Fitzmaurice (@mikefitz), SharePoint/workflow/Nintex guy
  • Eli Robillard (@erobillard), SharePoint MVP, musician, fly-fisher, collaboration technology guy
  • Brian Alderman (@brianalderman), SharePoint MVP, founder and ceo of MicroTechPoint
  • and your host, Christian Buckley (@buckleyplanet), Office Server and Services MVP, CollabTalk founder, holder of a +7 vorpal sword, and cmo + chief evangelist for Beezy

Of course, we always have lurkers! So please feel free to watch, make the occasional comment, or jump in head-first! See you online next week.

Christian Buckley

Christian is a Microsoft Regional Director and Office Apps & Services MVP, and the Founder & CEO of CollabTalk LLC, an independent research and technical marketing services firm based in Lehi, Utah, through which he provides fractional-CMO for partners in the Microsoft ecosystem.